> Albums Covers

Falcon: Disappear

Falcon: Disappear

Since its inception, Brooklyn-based Falcon have continued to find inspiration in some very strange places.

In 2004, childhood friends Neil Rosen and Shannon Ferguson (founding member of Longwave) formed the band to bring the songs of their fellow junior high school classmate, Jared Falcon, to life. The catch was that Jared had ceased writing songs at age 13 following his institutionalization. Consequently, the only material that Rosen and Ferguson had to work with were dusty cassette tapes left in a storage locker in 1988. The band persevered and with the help of bassist Christian Bongers and drummer Jason Molina, they have recorded 15 of Jared’s songs to date – including the highly lauded Falcon EP released in 2008.

Falcon’s first full-length record, Disappear, releases today. Recorded during the preceding winter at Serious Business Music in NYC, Disappear was produced and mixed by Shannon Ferguson with additional mixing by Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, MGMT, Sleater-Kinney) on the opening track, “Say Goodbye”. Check out their tribute to Star Wars in the video for first single "Say Goodbye" below (or via Wild Honey Pie)!

The band’s music caught the ear of author Daniel Wallace (author of the book and film Big Fish), who asked Falcon to do a soundtrack for his illustrated book O’ Great Rosenfeld. This collaboration resulted in 4 new compositions penned by Rosen with lyrics inspired by Wallace’s book.

“It is a brief and moody record,” Rosen says of Disappear. “I was inspired to write the songs for this record after seeing the Sean Penn film Into the Wild. During this time I was also expecting my first child. There is a side of me that loves nature and solitude. The idea of vanishing from NYC and my responsibilities was an alluring temptation to me at the time.”

Artist - Falcon
Album - Disappear
US Release Date - May 17, 2011
Label - self-released


01. Say Goodbye
02. Terrified (Happy Days Are Ahead)
03. Stories
04. Key Of Dreams
05. Disappear
06. Credit Cards
07. Worries
08. What Do You Know
09. My Heart Is Good
10. Elves

Previous | Main | Next